What are the Sacraments?

A sacrament is a physical outward sign of an invisible spiritual reality. 

Because humans are a unity of a physical body and a spiritual soul, God uses the means of physical objects and rituals to convey spiritual truths that we cannot detect using our senses.

This outward sign functions as a channel through which God imparts sanctifying grace into the soul. There are seven sacraments, all sourced in the saving work of Jesus in his passion, death, and resurrection, and all established by Him for the sanctification of every member of His Church.


Washes away Sin and creates a new member of the Church.

John 3:5 - "No one can enter the kingdom without being born of water and Spirit."

Reception of Christ's body, blood, soul, and divinity.

1 Cor 11:23-26 - "This is my body... This is my blood... For as often as you eat this bread and drink this cup, you proclaim the Lord's death until he comes again."

Seals and strengthens the baptized person.

Acts 8:17 - "Then Peter and John laid their hands on them, and they received the Holy Spirit."


Absolves the sinner from sinful acts and restores them to grace.

John 20:21-23 - "As the Father has sent me so I send you...If you forgive the sins of any, they are forgiven them, if you retain the sins of any, they are retained."

Helps strengthen those that are sick both physically and spiritually.

James 5:14 - "Are any among you sick? Call for the elders of the church and have them pray over them anointing them with oil."


Lifelong union between a baptized man and a baptized woman.

Matthew 19:4-6 - "A man shall leave his father and mother and shall be joined to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh."


The threefold orders of service (Bishop, Priest, and Deacon) given to men to administer the sacraments.

Acts 14:23 - "And after they had appointed elders for them in each church, with prayer and fasting they entrusted them to the Lord."